What is Traditional?

via daily prompt Traditional

After seeing today’s daily prompt I felt the need to write about traditional relationships – you know the ones where you get married, have kids, get through rough times and live happily ever after.  I have to admit I had those dreams long ago too. Stable relationships have eluded me in my lifetime so far. It has made me think a lot about my own life.

My parents have that traditional marriage – they have been married for over sixty years. I have cousins who have been in their marriages twenty plus years, friends too. It amazes me and also makes me a little envious that they have found the person who stands by them through thick and thin. And I have friends that have gone through what I have as well, and they have the biggest hearts and so much love to give. Why aren’t they able to find the person who cherishes them either? It pains me to see a friend settle for someone who is not right for them or go back to a shitty partner. Are they saying that about me too? I keep wondering why new/old guy went back to someone who he couldn’t work it out with 2 times already – why wasn’t I the one he wanted? Why go back to someone that didn’t work? I am still baffled by it all.

I often wonder why traditional relationships are so hard for someone like me. I am loyal, loving and willing to go the distance. Unfortunately the men in my life are not. Is it me or is it them? Are we all just so broken as we get older? I know my faults but I know how good I am too. I try not to define my life by my relationships, I have had some great loves in my life, but also so many heartbreaking losses, but after a while I start to feel like a failure at love. I wish I had answers as to why I am but I don’t. Maybe it is because I see the good when I should also be seeing the bad. I’m not sure that is easily changed behavior. I am who I am.  I don’t expect to change the guy I am with but I do expect love and respect. And just once I wish I was the one someone fought to keep.

#dailyprompt

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What is Traditional?

  1. L. Rorschach says:

    It’s not you.

    As for old/new guy, I think sharing history with someone cannot be understated, especially if they had unfinished business. I am really surprised both want to try again – usually it’s one or the other and at different times!

    Just think… he will come back to you when it doesn’t work with her. He will realize what he’s missing and will be kicking himself.

    Be careful what you wish for. You will be the one he fights to win back after this current relationship implodes. And it won’t be what you want because it will be way too late.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know, i wish the same, to be fought for, fought o be kept!
    I keep wondering is it me? But then no answers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

