Deep sigh of relief

via Daily Prompt: Relieved

I have finally reached a point in my new/old relationship where I am not worried and questioning every little thing. It is a nice place to be and it took a long time to get here. To say we had a great couple of days together celebrating my birthday is an understatement. Sometimes when things are new (in my case it’s not really new but it is) you may worry about how things will go the longer you spend time together. Will he get sick of me? You start to see the real the more time together. We spent pretty much every hour of every day together since last Wednesday and I have to say the time flew by. I have said this before and I mean it – I  have never laughed with anyone as hard as I do with him. To be able to spend two hours in bed with someone, just talking and laughing is priceless.

The best part is we are building memories, together. I have written about how I missed being in a relationship where you have your own language, something you say elicits laughter and only you two know about it. We have that, and it is great fun.

But of course it is not always fun and games too. My Mom had to go back to her doctor for a further procedure to remove the melanoma on her face. I was pretty upset by it on Friday, it is tough dealing with cancer and having three family members with it is draining, emotionally. My guy did his best to listen and just be there. The next morning he asked  me if I was doing okay. That is the sign of a supportive partner and meant the world to me. No blaming or not understanding that with a relationship comes life problems too. We talked about it. We are realists. I once had a guy who expected perfection from me, no drama (I hate that word), quite ironic when his own life was fucked up. Not my guy, he is caring and understanding. Being able to just be myself around him and not have to watch what I say or how I feel is the way it should be. I am relieved that I can just be me, and he can just be him. Not perfect, but human. And it feels good, really, really good.

Happy Monday everyone.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, blogosphere, breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, goals, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Deep sigh of relief

  1. L. Rorschach says:

    I am thrilled for you! I have hope that maybe I will someday get to that place, too, with Hayden.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so very happy for you. You deserve all the best life has to offer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladyinthemountains says:

    I more than like this, I love this. It gives me hope. I am so happy for you.,

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Author Interview – Sarah Fader – CEO of Stigma Fighters and author of “#ThisIsWhatAnxietyFeelsLike: When you think everyone hates you & so much more” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

