And out of darkness

via Daily Prompt: Descend

Life has been going so good lately. It scares me. All that I have known the past couple of years have been some highs and very low lows. It’s downright frightening that everything has fallen into place after so much heartache and chaos the past couple of months. Family illnesses are holding steady – no bad news on that front only normalcy. My sibling still has cancer but it has not progressed and although she is still battling and exhausted she is doing okay. We find out if my Dad’s cancer is in remission in another month. He has been feeling really good too.

Work is going great. Busier than ever, but I love what I do and whom I work for. This time last year I was fighting to keep this position, at the time it was supposed to only be a temporary placement after I was let go due from my old job to budgetary reasons. Funny how with some persistence and patience, and of course busting my ass to prove myself, it has paid off.

And for the big one – my new/old relationship is going better than I ever thought. We are spending the weekend at his home away from home, his beach house, and after meeting friends of his and spending lots of time together, I am feeling more secure and happier in a relationship in a very long time. My guard has come crumbling down, well almost, but I’m getting there. Although I have been in many long term relationships this one feels like my older ones – normal, unlike the unstable and tumultuous ones of recent. He stimulates my mind, my heart and well, everything else too. We are good for each other, in many ways, and I am beyond happy that we found our way back to each other. It is what I deserve.

Maybe this is how it was all supposed to work out. When you descend into darkness you are tested  and I know now I will always pass the test to make it back into the light. And when you come back up, you appreciate who you are and what you deserve. And that is one lesson I will never forget.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, blogosphere, breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And out of darkness

  1. It’s a good to hear that life is going great, even if it scares you, I’m sure as the days go you you’ll be scared less.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

