Temporarily out of order

via Daily Prompt: Temporary

Heartbreak is only temporary. It doesn’t always seem that way when you are in the throes of it. But as someone who has experienced some very painful breakups I can say with all certainty, it will pass.

Every single time I have had my heart broken I wonder how will I ever love again? How on earth can I even imagine being with someone else? I was speaking with a close friend the other day, she is going through it right now. She wonders how she will ever be comfortable and love anyone else again. I know my words of advice might give temporary comfort to her, but it is just listening to her and letting her know I understand that helps more.

Healing eventually happens. You get over the person – maybe you don’t completely forget him or her, or maybe sometimes you do. Life goes on without them. It just takes time. It’s amazing what time will do for you. Just as we use different filters and lenses when taking a photo, we can do the same with our relationships. During the healing you may start to see the person who temporarily broke you in a different light and through a different lens. Funny how time will do that.

As I have hinted in a previous blog my life has taken an unexpected turn, as far as my relationship is concerned, for the better. I am still shaking my head how it all worked out. I am not ready to talk about it yet. But I will, eventually. However the one thing I know now, more than ever before,  is that I can survive any breakup. The past year brought me to my breaking point, but I did not break. I am resilient, I am strong. No one can define me. My heart was used, battered, beaten down but it did not stop being open to love. Maybe all the pain was preparing me for what came next. My guy and I are both in a really good place and our relationship is growing and thriving. Internal peace, clarity and happiness will do that.

So when you feel like you will never be open to love again I am begging you to give love a chance. Love yourself and everything about you, no matter how much a person may try to diminish you or your actions. The person who blames only you for the relationship failure or treats you like garbage is not unhappy with you, they are unhappy with his or her self. You are just the easiest to lash out at. Stop allowing yourself to be treated like shit. Get out of your own head and the what-ifs and live in the now.

And just know that I have been there too and when you come out from the depths of despair you will realize that you are stronger than you think you could ever be. Even if I find myself on the receiving end of heartbreak again I know that I will get through it, I always do. And you will too.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, blogosphere, breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Temporarily out of order

  1. This has nothing to do with the post but, what was your avatar before you changed it to the smiley face?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. OaktownVibes says:

    This is amazing and I can relate in so many ways. Over the years I’ve learned that the easiest way to get over a break up (from my own personal experience) is to accept that it happened, to accept the role that I played and to realize that I am not my mistakes or the other persons mistakes. It took me the longest to get over a break up because I would take it as a personal offense as if I wasn’t good enough, but I’ve learned that people are only looking out for their highest good and their actions are never really based on anything we are lacking…its just that they feel like they would be happy else where. Of course what I’ve learned isn’t the only way to view it but for me, I was able to heal and move on “faster” with how I chose to rationalize the situation to heal. One thing that I hate to hear people say is that love hurts, but love in its true essence is selfless and puts the good of others before its own…its the misuse of love by imperfect people that hurts us, not love itself. I loved this thoroughly and it definitely hit home with me.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. gregoryjosephs says:

    Thanks for pumping a little positivity and hope into the world this morning. You’re right, of course; the pain is temporary, and it does get better. Thanks for a lovely read. I hope this is able to help someone today. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Such an inspirational post. You are indeed strong and did not allow yourself to be emotionally murdered…just wounded.
    I truly hope for the best for you and your new life.
    I will be anxiously awaiting to hear….when you’re ready.
    My best. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yuhublogger says:

    I hope your friend feels better soon. You do sound like a nice friend. Isn’t it amazing what time can do? A lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

