See through me, but not too much

via Daily Prompt: Opaque

I no longer tolerate vagueness in a relationship. I have never been afraid to speak my mind and sometimes I react before I think. But at least my partner always knows where he stands with me. As for me, I don’t want to view my partner through an opaque lens. I want honesty and openness. I want to know if there are doubts, hesitations or if he is worried about something between us. The truth hurts, but lies hurt more. Not everyone is a talker or wants to share their feelings, some people have a hard time expressing themselves. I won’t force dialogue but I won’t tolerate passive aggressiveness either. Been there, done that and it never ends well.

As for me, I have learned to also keep some things in my life private. I am transparent in my thoughts and feelings when I do write, but I also don’t write about everything that is happening to me. Blogging about yourself is an interesting process. People will form opinions of you when they read about your life, that is understandable as they are interpreting your words as they understand them. I think we sometimes forget that. I have not written much about my current relationship. Not because I am being opaque with my thoughts or feelings , I think it may be more of a self preservation tactic than anything else. I find that when I start writing about someone current too much, the relationship implodes. Or it may be that I’m just guarding my heart this time and letting it get stronger as my relationship does too.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, blogosphere, breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, friendship, goals, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to See through me, but not too much

  1. “People will form opinions of you when they read about your life”
    I formed the opinion that more women should be like you! You should hire yourself out for spoken words seminars 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Merbear74 says:

    There are many subjects that I don’t write about. Some things we need to keep to ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sammy J says:

    This is beautiful. Thanks for this post

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yuhublogger says:

    ” The truth hurts, but lies hurt more. “- Well said. I wish you the very best in your current relationship. Things will turn out just fine!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bklynboy59 says:

    It sounds like you have a better handle on this relationship and on what things to blog about and what things are private. I too blog at times about my life but I don’t blog about everything in my life. There are many things that are going on which I keep private to the world at large. But I respect your thoughts on your entry and I wish you the best in this relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

