I deserve a partner who thinks I hung the moon

via Daily Prompt: Timely

I found this little story today as I was thinking about what to write. I had saved it after a breakup a few years ago and it is still timely to this day. I’m not sure who wrote it so I have not given the author proper credit. I don’t have huge lists or unrealistic expectations when it comes to love except – love me, support me through good and bad and just be present. Enjoy.

I deserve a partner who thinks I hung the moon.

I deserve to be with someone who wants to hold my hand as often as possible.

I deserve a partner who will be in awe of my ass in a pencil skirt, who will tell me I am beautiful even when on days I don’t feel like I am.

I deserve to be with someone who is proud to show me off.

I deserve a partner who will celebrate my successes with me, and allow me to celebrate his successes with him.

I deserve to be with someone who can totally respect my politics, my views on religion even if we don’t share the same views.

I deserve to be with someone who, even in the biggest king bed you’ve ever seen, will want to at least have our feet touching.

I deserve a partner who can communicate, like really communicate.

I deserve to be with someone who will take care of me when I am sick or sad or tired.

I deserve a partner who wants to go on adventures with me, wide-eyed.

I deserve to be someone’s #1 teammate.

I deserve a partner who is present, emotionally and physically, more often than not.

I deserve a partner who understands the emotional exhaustion my career can sometimes cause.  And at the very least I deserve a partner who wants to hear about my day.

I deserve to be with someone who truly wants to come home to me (every single week/weekend/night, etc) that he can.  I deserve to be his favorite.

I deserve a partner who will sneak in quietly if I am napping and put a blanket over me.

I deserve a partner who will leave me a little note with a heart on it for no reason at all. Small gestures mean more to me than large ones.

I deserve a partner who loves me without pretense or doubt.

I deserve a partner that will encourage me to be my best and support me when I am at my worst.

My future partner doesn’t have to be a doctor or a lawyer or a fighter pilot. He doesn’t have to be superman or the President of the United States. He doesn’t have to be 6 foot 2 or a stand-up comedian. He doesn’t need a fancy car or a big salary or to be a certain age.  I don’t have a checklist. He just needs to love me more than anyone ever has—he needs to love me to the stars and back.  And he needs to be worthy of my love, because I have so very much to give.  I may not be sure who the man is, but I know what the love is.

This is what I have learned.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to I deserve a partner who thinks I hung the moon

  1. Where would you hang a moon if you had one?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mumsthewordblog1 says:

    I wish you good luck in finding your prince. I am lucky enough to have found mine and we are coming up to our 33rd wedding anniversary and we are still in love and think the other hung the moon 🐻

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Chrissie B says:

    Lovely! Here’s a challenge for you – I’d love to read a follow up to that, but with all the wonderful things you are bringing to the table as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Halycon Prana says:

    oh sigh. I feel this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yuhublogger says:

    This is lovely. I don’t think these are very high expectations. I guess deep down, this is what everyone wants. I hope you settle with such a man!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Merbear74 says:

    This is wonderful, I just read it to my husband.
    Thanks for sharing it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. eddaz says:

    It’s not too much to ask for and I think I’m on same stand with you😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. bklynboy59 says:

    good post …now in the words from the movie the Fugitive with Harrison Ford …You find that man!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this post… and yes, you do deserve all that!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ladyinthemountains says:

    Love this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

