Take your blinders off

via Daily Prompt: Blindly

There was a time where I would go into a relationship blindly. I would believe whatever was being said to me. Experience and time has jaded my thought process. I no longer blindly trust someone, it has to be earned.

I was lied to quite frequently during my long term relationship that ended exactly one year ago today. He would tell me he wanted to work it out but was never honest with anyone that he was living with me or the status of our relationship. I kept hoping for the best when I should have just cut ties with him. In hindsight we make better friends than lovers, but at the time of our relationship I wanted to believe his words.

I realize now that protecting my heart is of the utmost important. I am open to love but I will not fall blindly into it, at least not anymore. I am a person who gives more than she takes and I have been taken advantage of as a result. I am very expressive, not afraid to state my feelings, and will give a relationship my all. But I have my limits too. We all learn from our failed relationships and some of my biggest lessons have involved trust. When you start a new relationship don’t close your heart, be open to love, but be cautious too and make sure trust is earned. And be sure to watch actions too don’t just listen to someone’s words. Words blind us, actions open our eyes.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Take your blinders off

  1. bklynboy59 says:

    If there are red flags don’t ignore them. Too often we do because we talk ourselves into believing we know what we are doing. But in your case caution is a good thing . In the long run you will be better off.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You always end on a high note or something positive, that’s a good thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Geraint Isitt says:

    Came here from another blog. Our trials and tribulations shape and define us all, for better or worse. But it’s great you have the strength to share. Kudos for ending on a positive as well. Always need a reason to smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well said! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. updownflight says:

    Good advice. This is something I eventually had to learn too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    Been there. Done that (repeatedly). But not anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. yuhublogger says:

    I cannot agree, more! Well said. It’s great to be vulnerable, but not blind and foolish.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ladyinthemountains says:

    True words again. That is definitely how I am living now. Funny thing with R, is his actions do tell me his feelings much more than his words. if I only listened to the words of my non-talker, I would have quit seeing him. His actions definitely show he cares.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Author Interview – Tamara Lakomy – The Shadow Crucible: The Blind God (Dark Fantasy) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

