Healing, Dealing and Living

via Daily Prompt: Heal

Heal

If you have been following me you are aware that healing and how I’m dealing with life is the underlying theme to my blog. I was in the throes of spiraling downward when I started writing and wanted an outlet to heal. So many nights I cried as I typed. I wasn’t sure how I would ever feel better. Although I was surrounded by people who love me, I felt alone too. When you are able to talk to your friends, your closest confidantes, you feel comforted. It is when I climbed into my bed, alone, that my thoughts started and pain would engulf my heart. I kept telling myself I will get better, I have been through much worse in my life and I survived and healed from those wounds. Or did I? Do we ever completely heal or do we just learn how to deal and get stronger?

We all have scars and issues. We have all felt pain – debilitating, heart wrenching pain. To heal is a never ending process. Life is full of challenges, constant challenges. At times, you may be feeling a lull when everything is going just fine and then all of a sudden a curve ball is thrown your way. Even when you think you are fully healed, a memory may invade your mind, tug at your heart, try to break you. It may be fleeting or it may linger. But as the quote says above, the damage doesn’t disappear, but that damage no longer controls your life and your thoughts. And it may have broken you down, temporarily, but it did not break you. Don’t let it break you, but most of all don’t look at those moments when the pain returns as weakness because that is when your inner strength takes over. And when it does, you know you are on the path to healing. Always be proud of how far you’ve come and how strong your are to deal with the challenges you face. I know I am.

#dailprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, blogosphere, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, friendship, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Healing, Dealing and Living

  1. updownflight says:

    I had to think a little bit about your post after I read it, but realized you are 100% right.

    Part of the reason I’m blogging here is to advance my recovery. Though I’d love to think some day I’d be “RECOVERED” I guess it wouldn’t last long before something would challenge me again. I mean, I can’t really completely pull fears and traumas from my head and flush them down the toilet forever.

    I’ve written about using writing as part of my therapy in the past (maybe 4 days ago). Today also wrote about healing, but more the time the is required for it. That it can’t be rushed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Damn if I wrote my blog to heal I’d be in trouble. Half the stuff I write adds weight to the argument I should be given my own room with padded walls and a jacket that does up at the back, and the other half doesn’t make any sense. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Margret says:

    this is a true statement. I’m going into the same healing process. That’s one of the reason I started my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. eddaz says:

    True words. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mumsthewordblog1 says:

    Congratulations on a well written post and having such self awareness. Stand tall and be proud indeed 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bklynboy59 says:

    Good post. You did sp.ethinf most don’t do and that is the distinction between being broken or letting the damage in life keep us broken.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Keri L. says:

    This is so encouraging, thank you for writing this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

