Denying the Truth

via Daily Prompt: Denial

One thing I have learned in my later adult years and especially in the past few years, if you are in denial about someone’s actions and how they treat you, you are making up excuses for that person and just masking the truth. I have done it, we probably all have at one time or another. Excuses are exhausting. Defending someone who’s actions are indefensible is also exhausting. Why do we do it? Is it loneliness or fear of the person not being part of our life when we finally come to the realization that they are not worthy of our time and effort? Who are you trying to convince? Most likely just you.

Hard questions with answers that you may be trying to avoid. Stop the denial, stop the excuses, stop the hurt. There’s no denying that once you do, peace and happiness will eventually fill the void. I know, I’ve been there too.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, breakups, commitment, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, friendship, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Denying the Truth

  1. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    Those days are finally over for me. You are correct, I now have peace and happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. reactionarytales says:

    Nailed it with this post. I’ve been there too many times. Still have moments where I’m there again. It’s hard to let go but you’re right in that you come to the realization that you are so much happier for it in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nemo says:

    Very true insight indeed.. Keep posting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yuhublogger says:

    I could totally relate to this one. I guess we do live in a sense of false hope, till all hell breaks loose and then we realize that it is indeed time to move on.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What if you do all that looking and find out the person in the mirror is the person you’re scared to live without?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bklynboy59 says:

    sometimes we are trying to either fit someone else’s expectations or trying hard to live up to our own so we hang in there long after the expiration date.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

