What a Difference a Year Makes

via Daily Prompt: Meaningless

It has been almost a year since The Complicated One and I broke up and he moved out. We still talk and catch up with each other pretty regularly. It is not meaningless drivel but more of a deep care about each other. At least I’d like to think so. Any romantic feelings have been long gone and we are able to be friends and see each other through a different lens.

After we broke up, my life began to spiral for quite a long time. We had been arguing for so long and we were never really on the same page about our relationship, at least he was not. We lived together for eighteen months and our breakup crushed me. We had some really good times but some really bad times too. He isn’t a bad person, he just never chose me and chose a lifestyle that he never wanted to include me in either. I know the guy that many of his friends do not. And I still believe I am one of the few genuine people in his life. I learned some hard lessons being with him and I lost myself after we broke up and I think I lost myself a little too while we were together. But I have come back stronger and wiser.

As I have said in previous blogs I think we will always be connected in some way. This time though it does not involve pain and heartache. It involves friendship, sometimes it’s a little strange, sometimes a little more normal, but it is ours. Not everyone understands, sometimes I don’t even understand how we managed to salvage a friendship but we did. I think it may be because I finally realized what I can handle and expect and it is on my terms too, not just his, and that has made all the difference.

#dailyprompt

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in bloggers, blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, friendship, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What a Difference a Year Makes

  1. nkdwhtguy says:

    It’s rare to be able to salvage a relationship with friendship. Maybe that makes for better friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to think that I would be able to have a friendship on some level with my soon to be ex. After all his manipulation, I have given up that hope. It is nice to think that it is sometimes possible though. As long as it doesn’t just prolong the pain and suffering.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve done better than me. I know I’m not blameless in any of the situations but all but one of my exes (makes it sound like there is a thousand broken hearts behind me, there’s not) refused contact. All of the relationships ended amicably (as far as I am aware), all ended on talking terms and all but one ended with them owing me various amounts of money, or talking things from me, yet talking never lasted more than 6 months. The only girl I still talk to and I only see her once in a blue moon, is my first girlfriend when I was 14 and I was too young to have any money to give her.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bklynboy59 says:

    Not everyone can have what you have but by the same token do you feel your friendship with your exes can be a threat to someone who wants a relationship with you?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yuhublogger says:

    It takes a lot to reach the state that you are in. A lot of maturity and mental strength is needed to face a person who broke your heart. Well done. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wisdom... Akash!! says:

    Good thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

