A Breakup that Feels Good!

via Daily Prompt: Luck

luck

Lately I feel as if my luck has changed or maybe the universe is finally listening to me and what I have been asking for. After a horrible 2016 and my summer of shit, things are slowly starting to fall into place for me. Yes, there are still family illnesses, but everyone is holding steady, for now. My job is absolutely kicking my ass with the workload, but I love what I do.

But the real kicker, my love life is on a happy, steady path. I’m currently in unfamiliar territory, at least for the past few years. I lost who I was and let some crappy relationships suck the soul and life out of me, at least temporarily. This past summer changed me, not for the better. I was too needy, too sad, too deflated. I had no fight in me, I allowed myself to take blame for things that I should not have. But I have me back, the real me. I will always still be the woman who cries easily, loves hard and will try to save everyone around me. But I am now my priority. I am outgoing, emotional and will say what I feel, that won’t change. But I have also gotten my badass self back too. The woman who does not let a man define her or dictate who she should be or put up with bullshit to keep the peace.

My luck changed when I took a good hard look at who I was and realized what I needed to do to get myself back. It took work, lots of it. I still have days that exhaust me, but they don’t defeat me.

I also feel like I have hit the love jackpot. Finally, a man who accepts that we have issues, individual ones, and accepts who I am and I accept who he is. We get along well, in every way. It hasn’t been an easy road to get here, but he did not give up, I did not give up. I’m still guarded, I think my heart will be for a while, his is too, but when you fight for each other and accept each other, but most of all have understanding for each other and what you have both been through, the possibilities are endless.

So bad luck I am officially breaking up with you. Don’t worry, you will be okay, I’m sure you will sneak back in now and then and try to win me back. I won’t give in though, not anymore. And just remember it’s me, not you.

#dailyprompt

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Breakup that Feels Good!

  1. Luck is a virus according to the Pommie Sci-Fi comedy Red Dwarf. They describe it quite comically and 3 million years into deep space they find the Good Luck virus that can be injected into a person to give them good luck. That’s how I wish luck worked, just go down to the GP and get a jab of good virus whenever a bout of bad luck is around!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy for you! This is good news! We are both on a better path than we were last year this time! Big hugs…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Keri L. says:

    I’m glad things have changed for the better for you! Here’s to a freaking awesome 2017!🍻

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheetal Bhardwaj says:

    Sometimes it takes a “bad luck” to understand what “good luck” is. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good for you! Tell that bad luck jerk to hit the road! You are a warrior! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awe…I loved this! It’s great that you feel the shift in the universe and things moving into your favor!!! Yay! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

