A Nail biter…no more

via Daily Prompt: Nervous

For years I bit my fingernails, a pretty gross, disgusting habit. I don’t even think it was a nervous habit, I just did it. Then when I was thrown back into the dating world after my divorce, I became more conscious of how my nails looked and they were quite ugly. I needed to stop and make a change. I made a effort to redirect the habit and eventually stopped. Of course when you also think how many things your fingers touch on a daily basis, it also helps to kick the habit.

Now I am the opposite, I am obsessed with painting my nails. I’ve become a hoarder of nail polish colors (Essie is my fave) and paint my own nails. I never bite them anymore even when I’m at my most stressed, or bored. I guess old habits can be broken and replaced with new ones. It may difficult and uncomfortable but you can do it, with persistence and patience.

It’s kind of like being in the right relationship I guess – some things may be uncomfortable and difficult, but with the right person by your side, you can persevere. Break the habit of settling for partners who make no effort to understand you or worse yet, stand by you when you need him/her the most. Find the one that fights for you, not only with you. And when you do allow yourself to be in a relationship where you matter, you will find that it feels really good and you’ll wonder why you allowed yourself to settle for less than what you deserve.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, goals, heartbreak, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Nail biter…no more

  1. Jackie Kennedy used to bite her fingernails…and was a chain smoker. She hid her hands in her gloves.
    I was never a nail biter. I’m trying to think of any bad habits I have or had. Nope…none. LOLOL (I almost got that typed before I cracked up!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Break the habit of settling for partners who make no effort to understand you or worse yet, stand by you when you need him/her the most. Find the one that fights for you, not only with you. And when you do allow yourself to be in a relationship where you matter, you will find that it feels really good and you’ll wonder why you allowed yourself to settle for less than what you deserve.”
    I needed that. I’m working on it now.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I really liked your write up for the Daily Prompt – Nervous! Short and well written… impressive!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If biting your own nails is wrong, is biting someone elses nails ok? 🙂

    The last paragraph nails it 🙂 for me, more people should read that that paragraph every day when they wake up!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cinn says:

    I bite my nails, and have since I was a child… I constantly get my nails done… And still bite around them

    I know it is gross… And yet…

    But love the overall theme of your post

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nina says:

    Great theme and nice tie in.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ladyinthemountains says:

    Good for you for quitting that habit. My eldest is fighting that now. We tried everything when she was young. She is doing pretty well and may conquer it…..finally. On the other note, you are so right. I have learned in this past year that I would rather be alone than settle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • geminilvr says:

      thank you. It was a hard habit to break, really hard. I guess just reminding myself of all the things I touch on a normal day and then sticking my nails in my mouth helped to break it too.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. L. Rorschach says:

    Funny, I’m the same exact way! I used to bite my nails. Well, I still do if I get a snag… so I make sure to keep my fingernails polished and the cuticles soft & healthy. I get obsessive if there’s a snag that catches on things and try to smooth it out, which is disastrous without a nail file – maybe it’s a sensory disorder thing. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

