To share or not to share…

I think one of the best lessons I have learned in the past few weeks is that I need to stop sharing every aspect of my life, particularly in my non-blogging world. When you share, a lot, people begin to form opinions about you, the person you are seeing, not seeing, what you should be doing or not doing etc. I’ve decided that my current relationship will be my own business, for now. I need to be more careful in what I choose to share. It is not because I am devaluing anyone’s advice or opinion, it is because I need to protect and preserve what I have in my own mind. And frankly, sometimes I get tired of being asked the same questions over and over.

I will still share some of my current relationship here and there, but I find that when I overshare I set myself up for failure, with the relationship. And I also poison the well too. But what will I, relationship girl, write about? Fortunately or unfortunately, I have more material than I wish. My mind is always on overdrive and I have stories to tell andΒ  I always have something to say, or in my case blog about too. I will still convey my feelings and thoughts but I will not give specifics, at least not until I am ready. And at the moment I am not ready. I need to let this one breathe and grow and hopefully sustain.

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, dating, friendship, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to To share or not to share…

  1. ladyinthemountains says:

    I understand that. I am definitely in the same place away from here. I can share here because hardly anyone I know IL even knows this exists. I need someone to share with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same. I feel like when I over share bad things tend to happen or I have trouble achieving what I want/need.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I struggle with that, too, and wonder if I’ve missed out on any dates bc of my blog. However, it’s therapeutic, and I like making people laugh over my mis-adventures.

    Keep being you.

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Maybe your first sentence is more revealing than you know. Sharing with non-bloggies as opposed to bloggies, I can imagine is pretty different.
    Hey. I say share what you want to share and keep to yourself what you want to keep to yourself. It is, after all…your life.
    When you want to shout out to us…whatever….we’ll be here…cheering you on! (At least I will be.) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re secret is safe with me, I wont tell anyone about us πŸ™‚

    I was actually thinking this post was going to go the other way and suggest some people share too much online, because in my experience that’s true as well. As an author it’s one thing to write about feelings and the people we see and it can be done in a variety of formats including a fictional story so as not to embarrass or offend some people but sharing online is out of control. Look at all the fake people on Facebook and the like who can’t keep a single thought about anything in their head and don’t care who they offend as they post it to the world. They wouldn’t share all that garbage in a room full of people but online it’s fair game.

    Your blog is obviously personal but you appear to be very careful in what you post, only you know what crosses the line and no one else should ever tell you what you can and can’t post. The passion and depth you write with only comes from experience and not everyone has that. It would be a shame to have you ‘share less’ but totally understandable if you do. Start another blog under a different name and don’t tell anyone….but me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Having given the link to my blog to a man I had a relationship with has been the bane of my existence because I wrote about us. I wish I’d never done it. I have not decided how to deal with the blog if I get into a new relationship. Just saying, follow your heart, but realize that one day he may read it….even if you think he never will.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

