Longing for Peace

via Daily Prompt: Desire

I had hoped that at this stage in my life I would have more stability and peace. I desire peace but it often seems to elude me. Struggles  and challenges seem to find me no matter how much I try to hide from them. I told someone the other day that nothing is ever easy.

I’m not expecting to walk through life with everything being handed to me and no bumps in the road. I consider myself a strong person but my heart gets tired, my body gets tired, I get tired. And lately I’ve been really tired. I know this too shall pass. I have a lot to be thankful for and I don’t take the people in my life for granted. I never will. But I am hoping that certain things happening in my life with take a turn for the better and I will find that elusive peace and with it that elusive sleep.

My desire for writing helps me cope and keeps me on the path to healing and hopefully on the path to peace.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, dailyprompt, dating, friendship, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Longing for Peace

  1. Avery says:

    Thank you for sharing. You are not alone in this. I think everyone feels this way at one time or another.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully written and express

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Typo in the last line 🙂

    In many ways I think stability and peace make us too complacent, I’m not denying that it’s good to have at times but I’m not sure I want it all the time. Too many times in life I thought I was in a stable place only to relax and let the wrong things slip by. So it’s not a negative when I say I hope you get your peace and stability but not for all time. I also I hope you get some sleep and when you figure out how to do that one let me know the secret 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • geminilvr says:

      Lol I guess typing om was subliminal. Good sleep has eluded me for a very long time

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I know the feeling, years of grabbing 40 mins here and there in the truck during the wee hours of the morning has screwed my sleeping patterns. Shift work is bad enough but when I used to spend up to 4 hours (in in a 12 hour shift) sleeping a full 8 hours when I got home at lunch time was impossible. I regret it now but I can’t blame it all on shift work a lot of it was because for years I didn’t try to sleep properly.

        Apparently it’s getting more common among people now and its starting at a younger age. I advise anyone not to treat sleeping as a pastime and actually seek a good solid sleep from young age because it causes too many problems as life goes on.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel you in this girl ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    Beautifully written. I feel as if I came into this life tired and searching for peace and freedom. I have always felt that I do not belong here and I am in a prison. After 52 years I am much closer to that peace and freedom but it is a hell of a lot of hard work to obtain it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There’s something called a breath prayer that works quite well in calming and bringing a feeling of peace. Sit quietly as you slowly and deeply inhale for example you might utter inwardly the word peace and let it trail off until you exhale when you would repeat with another word, like perhaps stability that you mentioned. You can do this driving your car or while watching TV and it’s amazing how soon what you “pray” for begins to materialize. Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anindya says:

    No matter what’s the situation we have to train our mind to be happy all the times. ..think only of good thoughts. ..happy thoughts. ..enjoy ur time in what you love to do. ..and just keep all negative things out of the system. …and we will find peace in everything. …😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Writing is good for exactly that. Best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Author Interview – Reily Garrett – The Carnal Series, Unholy Alliance, Tiago, Tender Echoes, Journey to Dawn: Step One, Breathe & Digital Velocity | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

