Look beyond the jiggle

via Daily Prompt: Jiggle

We all have parts of us that we would like to change. Many of us suffer from poor body image. We may look at our bodies and think I wish I could get rid of my thighs that jiggle when I walk. Or the extra flab around my belly or my back fat, etc. If only we can see how beautiful we really are in the eyes of the people that love us.

I am guilty of body shaming –  myself. I have friends that tell me I look great, I don’t need to lose any weight but I don’t see it. So many of us do it and we let society dictate what is size appropriate. When I was at my thinnest late last summer I thought I looked great, but I didn’t feel great. I am tall and was wearing sizes that were made for someone much shorter than me. My clothes were hanging off of me. In reality I looked sick. It wasn’t due to an eating disorder, I wasn’t intent on harming myself. I am a person, who when under extreme stress, does not turn to food for comfort. I find that my stomach won’t handle food well. So not only was I physically not well, I was emotionally not well. A terrible combination.

Since then, I have gained a few pounds and overall I like how I look but I still want to slim down just a little, again. I’m not sure I will ever get to the point where I am completely happy with my physical appearance. It is a never ending cycle. The negative talk starts and I have to stop myself and it isn’t always easy to do so. I guess I see things I need to change that others do not. But then again it is all part of my personal journey, I can’t expect anyone to see what I see or feel how I feel. I vow I will try to stop the negative talk, it’s hard, really hard, but I will make an effort to do so.

So in closing, embrace  your jiggle, embrace your beauty, but most of all embrace all that you are. I promise I will too.

Happy Sunday everyone.

#dailyprompt

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, dailyprompt, forgiveness, friendship, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Look beyond the jiggle

  1. I lost thirty pounds in less than a month when pig-shit decided he wanted me to be his wife-whore. I was already thin, so I looked like a walking skeleton.
    Fours later I still haven’t been able to gain the weight back but I am guilty…like you say…of self-body shaming….and I get help when people walk up to me and say “how do you manage to stay so thin?”
    I guess I’m somewhat comfortable with it now but not completely.
    I agree. We should all be happy with our appearance because it truly is what is on the inside that matters. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bklynboy59 says:

    Embrace the inner person, don’t stress the outer person. Just love the inner self

    Liked by 1 person

  3. commutingwithkristen says:

    I hated my big butt until a random woman on a whim told me that she wished she could have a cute round bubble butt like mine. Until then, I only saw “large” but she saw round and healthy (yay squats!) and helped me to see the flip side on a few other parts of me that I also viewed with less-than-rosy-lenses. Yes it took another person to help me start to embrace my body but at least I got there and now I do appreciate my “jiggle” and my imperfections (with a few off-days yes, we’re not all positive and perfect 24/7). I’m glad you’re starting to as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Don’t think that all negative talk is bad or wrong, some times it’s needed. I don’t do the body image thing and I have a style that’s yet to be invented but I gave up worrying about what others thought when I was a teenager. It’s not entirely practical to do that because you can forget there are some people whose opinions do matter but like anything it’s a defence mechanism.

    However negativity can be just that as well. Negativity can be used to fight other peoples negativity rather than stoop to their level of name calling (or whatever it is they are doing) and then you get to chose the level of negativity. Negativity of others can be used to help decide how much you want to have to do with a person, too much and they get dumped as a friend, a little bit and you ignore it. But your own negativity can drive you to be better, do something positive, or just change.

    Negativity is like criticism, sure it doesn’t sound great, and often is used to hurt but that doesn’t mean we can’t embrace it and grow from it. So embrace the negativity, just remember to find something positive each time…or post your negative ideas and thoughts here and I’ll find a silver lining for you 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • geminilvr says:

      I like your take on this too. I don’t necessarily worry about what others think I’m my own worst enemy most times.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think we all are, but it’s not always a bad thing. If you can recognise it happening you can do something about it. I don’t know why it is and I don’t know when it happened but some time long ago I just decided to start looking at both sides of everything. I don’t care that much why people criticise me I try to look what can I do to improve that, not for their sake but mine. It’s harder to do with my own thoughts, we can all be harsh on ourselves, but I still try to do it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • geminilvr says:

        It is harder to do with ourselves what other people say carries less weight with me

        Liked by 1 person

      • The thing is when someone else tells us we did something silly it’s just their opinion (and they’re wrong). When we do it to ourselves we already know we did something silly 🙂

        Nothing wrong with embracing the silly though. Just like there is nothing wrong with admitting you are an idiot for doing something, or your hair cut looks better suited to a toilet brush, providing you learn from it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I have always struggled with negative perseptions of myself and body dismorphia. So, no matter how much weight I gain or lose, no matter the clothing sizes- I likely will never quite get out of my mind’s eye what I look like. It’s terrible and I work so hard at changing. Perhaps one day… Loved this! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. braddahr says:

    Your post reminded me of something I wrote last year: https://culturalatheist.wordpress.com/2016/06/27/reflection/

    You also reminded me about perfectionism. Healthy striving is good – to set a goal and to enjoy the journey that unfolds. Perfectionism is about trying to protect ourselves from criticism, judgment, or shame – but it never works and so it becomes a 20 ton shield that cripples us. (Tip of the hat to Brené Brown.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

