Mixed Emotions

life

Today is a day of mixed emotions for me. My Dad is receiving his last cancer treatment today and all signs point to it being successful. He will need to have scans every three months to monitor the cancer and make sure it is gone and does not return. My heart is happy and relieved that he and my Mom can breathe a sigh of relief and get back to enjoying life. I am going to surprise him tonight with some of his favorite things and celebrate.

I also found out yesterday that my friend in the UK who was unexpectedly diagnosed with lung cancer passed away. I wrote about him in previous blogs. A non-smoker who lived a healthy life and was enjoying life to the fullest. He was given about six weeks to live when diagnosed and he lived in pure agony those last few weeks. I am heartbroken for his family. He told me once again a week ago to just love and live, no matter how hard life seems right now it will pass. I promised him I would.

It made me think about all that I am frustrated and sad about in my life. How much time do we all really have on this earth? My Dad has been on this earth for 87 years and my friend had 51 years. Time is the one thing that is not guaranteed. And we waste so much of it waiting for tomorrow and what the future may hold. I’m guilty of it, I think we all are.

Life can be taken or given back in the blink of an eye. Appreciate those around you today, let them know it, stop fighting and arguing and start loving. You just never know when you will wish you had that chance again.

oh and FUCK YOU CANCER!

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, forgiveness, friendship, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mixed Emotions

  1. Merbear74 says:

    I second that. FUCK YOU CANCER.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear about your friend, but wonderfully written none the less.

    Good to hear about your father though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is wonderfully written, I do not know why tears just went down my cheeks. Perhaps I was also moved by that phrase “just love and live, no matter how hard life seems right now it will pass”…I promise too I will do the same starting now…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

