Missing you

via Daily Prompt: Translate

missing

Tu me manques. I came across these words in a poem I was reading months ago. It is the French version of I miss you. The difference is it can also translate as you are missing from me. I love that. I think the context of the phrase changes ever so slightly but yet so much.

I miss you – a longing to see you, wanting to spend time with you.

You are missing from me – you are a part of my being, my soul, without you I am not whole.

The author went on to say:

Most days I miss you in English, on my worst days I miss you in French.

I found these words so very powerful.But of course, no matter how the phrase is translated, it is the response received that can mean everything or nothing at all.

#dailyprompt

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, goals, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Missing you

  1. just different shade….good….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. L. Rorschach says:

    This brought my to tears.

    I woke up this morning crying because Hayden was missing from me. πŸ’”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The phrase, “miss you” does resonate with the heart. And as so aptly said, the response makes a lot of difference. The response can make or even break even the strongest heart…. That’s the power of emotions!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yuhublogger says:

    Such different interpretations! Lovely

    Liked by 1 person

  5. plotless1 says:

    This is lovely. Are you French?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You don’t have to miss me, I’m still here!
    (and unable to read French but I can read American) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. “Most days I miss you in English, on my worst days I miss you in French.”
    OMG I love that! One thing about the English language, we often lack words and phrases that other languages have! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award | Write Ally! Write!

  9. allylmare says:

    Hi! I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award! https://writeallywrite.wordpress.com/2017/02/22/sunshine-blogger-award/

    Feel free to accept it or decline. Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Merbear74 says:

    I knew that I had seen this before! I saw it yesterday on FB and made a meme. LOL πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

