Be(a)ware of what you say

via Daily Prompt: Aware

Be aware of what you say to someone or beware the consequences. I have had hurtful things said to me by the men in my life, friends, family and those words have stung. I have been labeled, unfairly, and had assumptions that turned out to not be true. I write quite a lot about judgement and perceptions. And as I have said before words hurt and once you say them, you cannot take them back. You can apologize and say you didn’t really mean it. But to the person you said them to, they hurt.

I won’t get into a full list but below are some words and phrases that have been said to me over the years. I am brave enough to post them and it may be uncomfortable to read, but next time you think of calling someone out, stop, take a breath and think how you would feel if it were done to you.

You were dishonest, stop being so emotional, you’re just crazy, are you bipolar (I’m not and that is a terrible word to toss around), I can’t be with a cheater (never happened), she’s self-harming on purpose (said from one friend to another because I lost weight from stress), bitch, dumb, stupid, selfish,  just learn to be strong and stop acting so weak all the time, you’re having an affair (also never happened), you never tried hard enough you could have been so much more. I’ll stop here.

The persons associated with these words have and have not apologized to me. Some have regretted saying what they said and insist it was only said in the heat of anger. Others still believe what they only want to believe. Regardless, even if you  have not asked for it I forgive and I try to forget and move on. It’s the only way I heal.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, friendship, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Be(a)ware of what you say

  1. braddahr says:

    That’s so not cool. Sadly, we’re all guilty of letting our mouths get ahead of our brain or just being plain mean and it’s being going on for a long time. Check out this observation from over 2000 years ago:
    “The tongue is a small thing that makes grand speeches. But a tiny spark can set a great forest on fire. And among all the parts of the body, the tongue is a flame of fire. It is a whole world of wickedness, corrupting your entire body. It can set your whole life on fire, for it is set on fire by hell itself. People can tame all kinds of animals, birds, reptiles, and fish, but no one can tame the tongue. It is restless and evil, full of deadly poison. Sometimes it praises our Lord and Father, and sometimes it curses those who have been made in the image of God. And so blessing and cursing come pouring out of the same mouth. Surely, my brothers and sisters, this is not right!”

    It’s not right and I’m so sorry you got slimed. I hope you stay grounded in the reality that you are inside out lovely, undeniably love-worthy, and unconditionally loved!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow those are some really nasty things that have been said to you. So brave and strong of you to share them. People apologise but forget that the scars will remain but it’s ok. Wear them with pride because they represent the amazing and strong warrior that you are ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladyinthemountains says:

    Words like that always hurt. I truly think words sometimes hurt worse that physical pain. I try to think before I speak so I do not speak out of anger. I usually do a decent job of it. When I don’t, I try to apologize. I hate to hurt anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bad301 says:

    Your lucky you can forgive and forget. I can never forgive someone if they hurt me and I will never forget it either. It is a problem that I have that I an not escape. However, I have eliminated the negative people in my life, including people in my family, that don’t accept me for who I am. -Bruce

    Liked by 1 person

  5. well written, well expressed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

