Just live life

via Daily Prompt: Resist

Resist the temptation to let life just pass you by. When I was online, last Spring, trying to find love, I came across a really nice guy that turned into a friendship. He lives in the UK, I live in the U.S., it was pretty impossible for us to meet, but we found that we enjoyed messaging each other about life, politics, dating, etc. We became Facebook friends as well. We talked about maybe meeting up one day. We had so many funny conversations about Brexit and the political race here in the U.S. He loved to go on holiday and would tell me of all his antics and fellow tourist antics.

I didn’t hear from him for a bit at the end of the year and recently noticed that he was posting ominous comments on Facebook. He just told me that he has lung cancer, was recently diagnosed and has 4 weeks to live. He never smoked, took care of his health.

He has two beautiful young daughters. Four weeks to live. He is fifty-one. His news hit me hard. I may not have known him long, but my heart breaks for him and his family. It is unfair, cancer sucks. He sold his company and retired young, wanted to spend more time with his daughters. He was living life to the fullest. It’s surreal. I can’t even begin to imagine what he is going through and feeling.

How many days have I wasted worrying about problems in my life which seem so insignificant? How many days do we all take for granted? How many people in your life do you take for granted, thinking they will always be there? Fighting with friends, family, exes, etc. Live your life, love your life, love those around you, tell people that mean something to you that you love them, make plans, deal with your mistakes, pick yourself up but most of all be thankful you have the opportunity to do so.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, dailyprompt, forgiveness, friendship, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Just live life

  1. eddaz says:

    So sad. I’m sorry about the news. It’s true to live and enjoy life, we never know what might happen. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww…such a difficult time. My thoughts are with you! Why is it impossible to meet? I’m hoping to read an update that you did in fact meet.
    *hugs*
    Crystal

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Resist – Daily Prompt | Ladyleemanila

  4. This is so sad. Good people…leaving too soon…and scumbags….staying too long. We’ll never understand the reasoning for some things but you will always have the memories of a beautiful friendship…and like Crystaleyes20, I hope you will get to meet as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my, this resonated with me completely. Part of the reason I started blogging was my realisation that life is previous and can be gone in a blink (so I’d better do everything I want to do now). My mother in law was diagnosed with Lung Cancer Stage IV too. Having being healthy living and a non-smoker it was a bolt out of the blue. She’s surpassed everyone’s expectations and going on two years alive now. Life is indeed fleeting. Your poor friend 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I remember a similar thing happening to me twice. One person I met online nearly 20 years ago and got to know lived and died less than 100ks from me yet we never met (deliberately), and the other lived in the US.

    I’ve met so many psychos, morons, maladjusted fools, and just general weirdos in my years online but there is a few I’ve met that make up for all that.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Our commonalities continue, I have two online U.K. friends! This though is devastating news my friend!! I will be thinking of you both. Please email me if you want to talk! xo ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ladyinthemountains says:

    I am so sorry that your friend is dying. It is so difficult to lose people we care about. I am glad you got the short time with him that you have had.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. prewitt1970 says:

    All these things so very true coming out from the other side of my battle with cancer. I’m so sorry to her about your friend

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

