Running to love

via Daily Prompt: Marathon

Love is a marathon, not a sprint. I have been guilty in the past of rushing it, hoping that I would not have to experience heartbreak once again.This wasn’t always the case, just recently. I know love needs to build, I understand that. But lately, issues and past demons seem to line the streets and trip me as I’m running to the finish line. I have pretty much forgotten what it has been like to love someone and have them love me back, imperfections and all. I want the guy that runs beside me, cheering me and each other on as we make our way along in this life, encouraging my heart to keep trying and trusting even when life knocks you down over and over again. The one who not only fights with you but fights for you. Maybe one day I will be able to run in the race of love and not struggle, every single time.

#dailyprompt

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationship goals, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Running to love

  1. A description of love I have never heard before and I must say that it makes 100% sense and must be part of every lovers’ scripture.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am planning to write an article on love and now you’ve forced me to discover new dimensions to think.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladyinthemountains says:

    So true and great analogy. I miss the love I had with ex-bf. I am starting to think I will never find that again. I am getting used to being alone and am not sure if I like that or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Again a great little piece. You’d loose me on the marathon (even if someone was chasing me with a whip I wouldn’t make it half way) but I’d happily stand on the side lines and punch all those past demons to stop them tripping you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bklynboy59 says:

    Be patient. It will happen but be careful what you attract in the mean time because what you attract maybe a what is causing flameout. You want a lasti8ng relationship then be patient and you will attract a patient relationship that will grow to what you want.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

