Time to let go…

via Daily Prompt: Cling

When I think back to how many times I would cling on to a shred of hope that we would get back together it makes me sad. Not sad that I lost you, sad that I lost me. Who was this girl crying and groveling over you? Love makes us behave erratically and sometimes desperately too.

I’ll always be honest about my feelings, if I want you you’ll know it, I don’t run and hide from being honest. But I won’t beg, plead, or try to convince you why I’m worth it. Funny thing is when you finally realize you are worth it, you won’t need to convince anyone to be part of your life. I lost that part of me, a momentary lapse of reason, but now it’s back and I may struggle and fall but I know I will always be worth it, to me and hopefully to those who choose to be part of my life.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, goals, hurt, life lesson, love, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time to let go…

  1. Was it wasted time, the time spent clinging?
    Note that can be treated as rhetorical, I was only thinking out loud 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • geminilvr says:

      good question actually and my answer is yes, I would never be accepted by him for who I am. I tried so hard to convince him to stay and looking back I don’t know why. I have someone now who truly appreciates me and I don’t need to convince and can be myself

      Liked by 1 person

      • I tend to look back at those times (not just that sort of thing but bad times in general) and say they weren’t a waste of time. Sure in hindsight I possibly could have found something better to do but there is things to learn from mistakes and wasting time doing a pointless exercises yesterday, last week, last year etc is still learning. Mind you I don’t always think that, sometimes I do beat myself up for the mistakes 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • geminilvr says:

        I get what you’re saying….he wasn’t a waste of time, I definitely don’t regret being with him, my actions are what I consider a waste of my time and eroded my self esteem. Lesson learned.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I fought hard to keep the spice alive with the first girl I lived with even though everyone told me I was wasting my time. But even today I don’t really see it as time wasted, I see it as lesson learned.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

