Lost in Translation

After having a conversation with someone who challenges me and whatever I say, I sat back and thought about what was said and unsaid. So many words come to mind when I think of him – oil and water, frustration, regret (not in a bad way), give and take, humor, clarity, assumptions, hope. But the word that stood out for me is acceptance, take the good with the bad, the messy with the neat, the perfect with the imperfect, just listen and be open.Whatever he says I take the wrong way and whatever I say he takes the wrong way, though I am sure he would debate me on that too. It just makes me sad that something that could have been great constantly gets lost in translation.

I don’t believe in soulmates – that is way too much pressure to put on any one person or relationship, but I do believe in what this quote has to say about relationships that truly matter in your life – they aren’t all peaches and cream – they are roses and thorns too. wp-1483586097159.jpg

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, forgiveness, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, relationships, sorry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Lost in Translation

  1. Well put. I think part of the purpose of a soulmate (or soul friend) is to challenge us to be a better person. And I like you, believe we have many such people in our lives.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. It’s difficult to come across such person/persons but when we do, we grow more as an individual.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the title! Soulmates, rare gems of our lives but yes we do tend to put too much pressure on them at times. Lastly ‘acceptance’, a perfect word for a our generation which doesn’t have a habit of accepting mistakes and learning from them and end up messing things up. Acceptance is an integral part of true love too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. exoticnita54 says:

    Totally agreed…
    I have had one such relationship…
    And I believe he was my best friend and lover ever..
    I couldn’t stay mad at him…he never allowed me to..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. commutingwithkristen says:

    Beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. eddaz says:

    I love that quote, it’s so true..No relationship is smooth all the way, it must go through turbulence at one point to bring out the hidden thorns and then stabilizes to move along the rhythm of the way it should.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve yet to find mine. I’m not really sure they exist. I used to have a “person” but that person turned out to be just a mirage. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Not picking you on specifically because we all do it but the following line bugs me when taken one particular way

    “I sat back and thought about what was said and unsaid.”

    How often do we sit back and think about what was unsaid? In my experience way too often. We either expected something to be said that wasn’t or we make up stuff that we think the person meant because the words weren’t there.

    Well written none the less πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

