Are you really gone?

via Daily Prompt: Gone

Are the thoughts of you gone from my brain? My heart? I’m sure you will always linger there in some way, but no longer destructively.

Am I at peace again? Most days. Have I found someone who makes me smile and wants to make it work? I think so and it’s pretty nice. It’s how it should be.

Gone are the days of longing and hoping to just hear your voice. You will never be erased from my memory, that is not possible with someone I deeply cared for, it’s who I am. But the hurt is gone, long gone, and happiness and love have replaced it. And it feels good, really good.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, forgiveness, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Are you really gone?

  1. This is so true… Beautifully written!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    This is so beautifully written! I just followed your blog, I think I’m really going to enjoy it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yuhublogger says:

    I love this!!! I specifically liked the line “I’m sure you will always linger there in some way, but no longer destructively.” Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nina Rubin says:

    I’m excited to spend more time on your blog. This was a really concise and powerful piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice words πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • Welcome, you write so well in so few words. I have a tendency to over explain things, comes from writing novels I guess and being a werido introvert who get nervous around people and just talks to save silence.

        Liked by 1 person

      • geminilvr says:

        well in person I talk waaaay too much so it’s surprising I can write few words πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • And you do it so well πŸ™‚

        I remember reading a line (which I partially stole for a recent poem) about being the loudest in the room,

        “Alone in a people filled room
        Alone but always the loudest”

        Until I read and re-wrote those words I didn’t realise how true they were for me. I’ve been told I’m a loud mouth, been told in groups I talk to much and been told that I try to talk over people. I guess I knew it was happening but what I didn’t realise was that it was a defence mechanism.

        Liked by 1 person

      • geminilvr says:

        interesting point – I think mine is due to a mind that overthinks and never ever winds down

        Liked by 1 person

      • I used to think that, then I realised there was more too it. I put up a lot of walls to protect myself and didn’t realise they were protecting me too well. I had a lot of defence mechanisms that happened in certain situations to make sure those walls stayed up.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. ladyinthemountains says:

    I am so glad you have reached this point. I finally have with ex-bf. I realized that in the past couple of days. I no longer yearn for us to be together. I no longer think about him when I am in bed. He has not been the first thing I think of in the morning in ages. I am OVER him. I will always love him but I am no longer IN LOVE with him. It is GREAT!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Zinni says:

    Lovely 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

