My Retreat

via Daily Prompt: Retreat

When the pain was too great, I would retreat into my own thoughts. It was not always a safe place to be. Sad thoughts, painful thoughts were a constant. Overthinking and overanalyzing were my constant companions. Tears didn’t stop. The thinking didn’t stop. The hurt didn’t stop.

Writing helped me escape my prison of sadness. My words and thoughts broke through the wall of pain that surrounded me. I’m in a much happier place now. I haven’t forgotten how hard it was to get here. There are still days that are not easy, but that is life. And when it gets to be too much, I still retreat, but now I am armed with my words.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to My Retreat

  1. Pingback: Retreat – Daily Prompt – Ladyleemanila

  2. eddaz says:

    Such strong emotions pouring out through your writing. I love the way you express them. Keep writing💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As long as you express yourself there is no sorrow strong enough to hold you back from being you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Words are powerful tools. They can be spoken or written. I found my “voice” through my words and it has indeed helped. If for no other reason than to understand that there are so many others out there who have “words.”
    Our words spell out our depression, our anguish, our sorrow, our broken dreams and they bounce back with others’ words of encouragement, support, acceptance and affection.
    I guess we both literally “retreated” into a world of words.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had to read it twice. I can feel if not touch the pain you’ve passed through. Now you should be strong enough to face any pain. Keep being strong. The world is for the strong because the pains are too many.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. ARGH!!! you keep doing it, get out of my head!!! 🙂

    Actually I’ve written a number of variations on this theme, some posted some not. Going into ones own head can be fraught with so much danger, not because we are all weirdos waiting for something to snap, or all morons who have trouble dealing with things but because some times we don’t come out.

    Love the last line, but I do take it as a bit of challenge. My words against your, duelling words at dawn, you’ve been called out time to stand up and defend!!

    Ooops see what happens when some of us come out of our own minds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. angyjenks says:

    Im glad you are happy 😊.. I enjoyed reading this..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. CalicoJack says:

    Howdy gemini!

    I “enjoyed” your post here and was struck by the idea of writing as a way of escaping emotional pain and distress. One of the most basic — and most overlooked — human needs is to be understood. Sometimes, it is enough to be understood by yourself. I’ve found that when I craft a statement that exactly says how I feel, I feel better, whether or not someone else reads it or gets it. It is that processing of the emotion that is needed to express it in words said aloud or written down that probably helps the most.

    Huzzah!
    Jack

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

