Re-Discover You!

via Daily Prompt: Discover

I’ve discovered my voice again, at work. In my previous position it was difficult to suggest ideas or voice an opinion without fear of embarrassment or even worse, retribution. Any creative ideas fell on deaf ears. My job became almost robotic. Now, I still work for the same University, but in a different division. After fourteen years I was let go from my original position. Since I worked with very sensitive information in my previous position, it was recommended that I would be transferred to the campus academic library to finish out my contract. The Dean I was assigned to is a dream to work with. She is engaging and supportive and she would soon discover that my ideas and work ethic fit with her needs.

I worked my butt off to become a permanent member of her team. In the end, after some nail biting weeks and stress that basically ripped my stomach to shreds, a contract was worked out, mid-summer and I got the job! My summer of shit’s one very bright spot.

I cannot express enough how much I love my job. I work for someone who appreciates me, never takes credit for the work I do, and gives me projects that take me out of my comfort zone and allow me to showcase my talents. I am forever grateful that she took a chance on me, but most of all I am happy I took the chance on me and didn’t just give in to the demons that were telling me to give up. I enjoy going to work but most importantly I can say with all honesty, I love my job.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, dailyprompt, goals, hurt, life lesson, love, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Re-Discover You!

  1. Find a job you love and you’ll never work another day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. eddaz says:

    That’s a Treasure you have found , very few people have discovered their passion the way you have….I wish you the very best.💞💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colette LaCaruba says:

    I’m so thrilled for you! You persevered and it paid off! Kudos to you! XOX

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You make me really happy. I feel happy to know someone loves their job. I am really happy to see you so happy and I pray that you may grow to higher places from here.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There’s no better feeling than loving what you do. I felt that way about EMS. It was hard, sad, traumatic and for the most part, unappreciated but I loved it.
    Here’s to a fabulous year ahead for you! Have a Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bklynboy59 says:

    It’s nice to feel appreciated for what you bring to the table professionally doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ben Aqiba says:

    “Choose a job you love,and you will never have to work a day in your life”. Confucius

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Author Interview – Amanda Roberts – The Roots of the Tree | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

