Politics, who me?

via Daily Prompt: Conundrum

This past election proved to be quite the relationship conundrum for people on opposite sides. I have friends and family members who have taken sides and fractured relationships because of who they chose to vote for. I am not one to ever push my political beliefs on anyone and although I am outspoken about most things, the hate and vitriol spewed by people I love and respect just blows my mind.

How do we deal with the next four years? I wish I had an answer but I don’t. Decency and respect seem to be thrown out the window. The ugliness of humanity has been brought to the forefront and it scares me, greatly.

I will just keep being the person I am. I do not like to write about my political views, here or on social media, and this is the closest to politics I will ever write about. Going forward, I will listen and try to understand but I will not add fuel to the fire. If you were my friend before the election, you will still be my friend after the election, as long as you respect boundaries.

And I will continually hold out hope that hate won’t win and that love will.

 

#dailyprompt

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in communication, dailyprompt, goals, life lesson, politics, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Politics, who me?

  1. I have heard nightmares about the election results and the rift it caused. People have lost friends, family members stopped speaking to each other and relationships have effectively ended.
    That’s why I say I NEVER discuss politics. So many blogs are dedicated to the outcome of the election and reveal their dismay or delight. Although I read them, I never comment. I don’t even “like” them.
    Politics always has the potential to be volatile and this year was certainly no exception. Whatever a persons’ opinion or choice is just that…..theirs. I’m not going to challenge them or try to sway them. I just don’t talk about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great piece. A true conundrum indeed. I too am holding out hope. Unity, with respect for all, is the only way. Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. junkytravel says:

    Politics and media have played significant roles in framing the perspectives of people. And tragically, people have been made into biased and divided beings. I just hope the world realizes that humanity is greater than politics, nationality, religion and race, and it is the only thing that will bridge the gap between the individuals.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. eddaz says:

    So true. I wonder why this would happen..I mean loosing friendship that has being built for years over such an entity is truly conundrum. Thanks for writing this piece of your mind👌

    Liked by 1 person

  5. farbehindme says:

    I completely agree with you. My mom was attacked on social media for calling the election “quite the show”. The people who attacked her were her good friends who she met through a breast cancer SUPPORT group when she battled breast cancer. It’s quite awful. Now my parents are fighting because my father who is extremely opinionated and political is attacking them right back. It embarrassed my mom so she asked him to stop, and that created a MAJOR riff in their relationship… My thoughts on politics have never changed. I absolutely HATE politics and have no desire, energy, or time to waste arguing over personal beliefs and opinions on how things should be done. Our nation has done so much to try and bring people together and UNIFY, now it’s like slapping all of that in the face.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like this post but I am guilty in part of what you say. I will write with hate, I will write with anger and I will write with emotion, but not about politics and I wont ever name people or have flame wars. In essence I make my work fictitious even if there is some basis in fact. Unfortunately such writing can create controversy (I’m sure even Stephen King gets flamed for what he writes) and people have tried to embarrass or shame me into changing my style but I refuse to enter into their arguments. I really like writing angry and expressing anger, but I also like being the complete opposite.
    Interestingly enough I have copped nearly as much flak for some of my more romantic poems as I have for the hate filled ones. They are all written from the same head, may or may not have someone as their influence but certain people take offence to me writing hate/gore and certain people take offence by the complete opposite.
    I’m not a fan of politics, flame wars or social media but I do think that for love to exist at any level hate must also exist in some shape.

    Liked by 1 person

    • geminilvr says:

      I think writing angry and bashing people for their political beliefs are so very different. I totally agree with your statement that hate must exist for love to exist that is an interesting perspective. I think when we tear down other human beings is when boundaries are crossed

      Liked by 1 person

      • Writing angry and bashing people are different, however there is a connection. If I added to any of my angry writing it becomes a personal bashing. If I leave the name out people are free to make up their own mind about who influenced the story. But both poems can still create the same criticism especially when the reader decides the poem without the name is about someone/something they like. I guess the point I was making was that some people will just find offence in anything. I could write a poem about cleaning a toilet (actually I did) and people could be offended. I could write a poem about a character in someone elses book and if I don’t name the character people could make a connection to a real person. I kind of like that challenge but refuse to change because of the person who can find offence in everything. In fact people who do get offended by everything amuse me 🙂 I wont enter into their carry on though 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. bklynboy59 says:

    This is an example of a classy and mature way to handle a very volatile situation with friends and family that share polar opposite view. I wish you well on continue to make peace!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

