Misery doesn’t need my company

via Daily Prompt: Martyr

Considering all that was going on in my life this past year, I could have been a martyr and kept wallowing in my misery, but I chose not to. Misery loves company as the old adage says, but continuing to keep that company is not healthy either. Deciding to get out of that cycle of wallowing in it was not an easy choice. The options to stay sad were so much easier. Just shut out the world and cry, retreat into yourself, it’s safer than letting anyone see your hurt and know your imperfections. But although actually getting up, taking care of myself and seeking help was the tougher option, it was the better option. It always is. I knew that, but it seemed impossible that I could even take the first step.

I’m happy and proud that I chose the latter. I’m still not perfect and my life is far from perfect. It never will be but I do know that playing the role of martyr is not a place I ever want to be again. Never again.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, goals, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Misery doesn’t need my company

  1. Pingback: Martyr – Daily Prompt – Ladyleemanila

  2. I don’t consider myself a martyr. After having wasted 41 years of my life, I call it being “done.” I am probably in that “miserable” category but I function. I pay my bills, I keep my house neat and I blog. LOL
    I am in the late fall of my life and I don’t have time to “start over.” I figure…after having gone through what I have gone through, the fact that I’m still breathing, speaks volumes.
    I’m glad you “chose the latter” too. The world is out there…just waiting for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

