Gone but not forgotten…yet

via Daily Prompt: Faded

My love for you has faded and my want for you gone with it. I didn’t want to believe that time heals all wounds, the heartache was so deep, so painful. It was as if I could feel the scars on my heart, raw and open, still bleeding. But in time I learned that those wounds and scars are where we allow love to pour back in and heal us. And I have felt the love, still do, just not from  you. You’re not a stranger to me, but your love is. I wish I could say that you are a distant memory, but you are not, sometimes you still invade my thoughts. But the love is gone, replaced by another feeling, perhaps a different iteration of love, one that won’t pierce my heart and soul when you walk away again. Funny how that happens.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, communication, dailyprompt, dating, forgiveness, heartbreak, hurt, life lesson, love, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gone but not forgotten…yet

  1. The way I feel about my ex….”the only reason I don’t care if you drop dead tomorrow is because your pension will stop.”
    Just being honest. Yikes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I heard it coined in a group referring to the ex husband as was-band. Its stuck. Relationships are hard. Finding the strength to walk away is even harder for me. So hard that I haven’t been able to leave. But alone nonetheless. Thanks for sharing. There is hope.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

