Butterflies or nah?

via Daily Prompt: Anticipation

Today’s daily prompt immediately made me think of meeting someone for the first time. After days of chatting or sometimes weeks with a prospective love, the anticipation of finally meeting face to face can be both exciting and worrisome. Exciting because you finally get to meet the person, worrisome, well, because you finally get to meet the person. You will either feel relieved or deflated.

2280becbc446a5d24e64f94da0902e6e

I have to say that I experienced both regarding my online dating experiences. One of my first dates when I went online last Spring exceeded my expectations. The anticipation and finally meeting each other was everything and more. And of course, one meeting late summer, deflated me.

It is nice to experience those butterflies and embrace the endorphins that put us on a high when we first meet the person we have connected with. But it’s even better when you still get butterflies after time has passed. They may not be the same type of initial butterflies when you first meet, but those of a deeper feeling and connection. I’ll take that over first dates and first kiss anytime.

#dailyprompt

#life

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, dailyprompt, goals, life lesson, love, online dating, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Butterflies or nah?

  1. exoticnita54 says:

    You are so right.. that building of anticipation and excitement.. to meet that connection you have grown so attached to..
    is indeed electrifying..
    until you finally come face to face

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What does it mean “and he wore the shorts?”
    I can’t really speak to the whole butterfly thing….my encounter was more like…maggots. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

