Oops, I did it again…almost!

via Daily Prompt: Elicit

i-have-no-filter

I’ve never been one to shy away from saying how I feel. If your behavior affects me in a negative way it will elicit a response, usually pretty rapidly. Sometimes good, sometimes bad, sometimes a little “overboard” shall we say? It has taken a lot of work to control my mouth. And I use the word control loosely. I don’t necessarily mean in a sense that I won’t say the truth, I will, but maybe not react so quickly. I have also come to realize that sometimes I do just need to take a step back. Assess the situation and wait to respond. When I don’t is usually when I get into trouble. This past summer was proof of not taking a step back first. I just fired away what was on my mind, and the consequences were pretty heartbreaking. I almost just did it with someone new, but my wonderful, understanding and oh so patient friends stopped me. And for once I stopped me before the bleeding began.

I have a smart mouth, a sarcastic sense of humor, a sharp tongue. But I will never put anyone down, even if they have done it to me.  I will however tell you how I feel and it doesn’t always work to my advantage or give me the outcome I had hoped but I’d rather be real than fake. That part of me won’t ever change, but maybe the delivery time of my response will. Still working on that part. Think before speaking but most of all when it comes to me, think before texting.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, dailyprompt, dating, goals, humor, life lesson, love, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oops, I did it again…almost!

  1. That is called being true to yourself. Like you, I don’t disparage anybody unless they really deserve it but don’t ask me how I like your hair if you don’t want to know how I like your hair. One of my longest time friends used to be a petite little blonde. She’s gotten older and has put on a few pounds so she decided to dye her hair burgundy with hot pink streaks in it.
    I hate it and I told her but she knows me and knows that I tell it like it is. When she styles it a certain way, I say “I like your hair style….I mean I hate your hair but I like your hair style.” She knows what I mean.
    If my children made a mistake (and I’m talking about a huge mistake), I didn’t say “it’s okay, honey,” and then go seethe in the corner. I say “you fucked up.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, we all do it sometimes don’t we? I think I’m quite a nice empathetic person. However, once I shocked myself by telling someone that their friend had a big head (physically big)! For months we’d been trying to make a friend feel better about her boyfriend leaving her for the girl with the big head. It had just become habit talking about her head size. I didn’t even know the poor girl – I’m still shocked at how awful I was to tell that girl her friend had a big head!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

