There is No Mute Button!

via Daily Prompt: Ostentatious

Ostentatious: characterized by vulgar or pretentious display; designed to impress or attract notice.

Synonyms:showy, pretentious, conspicuous, flamboyant, gaudy, brash, vulgar, loud, extravagant, ornate, overelaborate;

Informal: flashy, splashy, fancy-pants, over the top, glitzy, ritzy, superfly

I am an extrovert, most of the time. I do have the ability to be quiet, when I need to be. However I am not ostentatious or showy, I just like to talk. And talk. And talk. One ex used to ask me where he could find my mute button. I told him it doesn’t exist, but he could have fun trying to find it. One of my best friends changed her ringtone on her phone for when I call. It is the teacher from the Peanuts comic saying blah, blah, blah. Was I offended? Heck no, I nearly wet my pants when she played it for me.

talkative

Blame my conversational skills (aka talking too much) on my overactive mind, or my star sign Gemini (we are the great communicators of all the star signs), or confidence. And hey being a Gemini means that there are two of us fighting to make our point. Double the trouble! Being an extrovert works as an advantage for my job. I work in a library so you would think I  would need to be quiet, but I manage projects so I need to be out meeting stakeholders and top administrators. Shushing patrons is not my responsibility. Shushing myself is hard enough!

I always associated the word ostentatious with a negative tone. But as I read the definition of ostentatious and its synonyms, as I do with all daily prompts, I’m thinking maybe it’s not as bad as I thought. I  have to agree that I am loud, at times, vulgar, probably more than I should be but only with cursing and the occasional dirty mind,  but never pretentious or extravagant (too poor lol). Do I like attention? yes, but not in a needy way and most of the time I’m not intentionally seeking attention. I’m not brash, gaudy, flamboyant or ornate either. I may overelaborate when telling a story or maybe it is just me being expressive.

I do like, however, the informal synonyms that were listed above. So if anyone asks me to describe myself from now on I’m going to say that I am a – flashy, splashy, fancy-pants, over the top, glitzy, ritzy, superfly Gemini! Even if it’s not all true it sure sounds good!

Hmm, on second thought, maybe ostentatious isn’t such a bad word!

Happy Saturday everyone – enjoy your weekend!

#dailyprompt

#humor

#Gemini

#blogging

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, dailyprompt, goals, humor, life lesson, love, relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

