The Perfect Partner? A Mythical Creature

via Daily Prompt: Mythical

The perfect man or woman is a mythical creature, yet so many of us expect to find one. Act a certain way, look a certain way, be a certain way. Perfection is unattainable in relationships, but yet the moment something that may test your well-being happens or life just gets in the way, and you may find yourself acting differently than you normally would, is the time that many of our partners seem to run away. I’ve had some really good guys who stick by me and then there have been some who retreat or back away and those actions have hurt me the most. I don’t want the guy who will bring me roses, buy me expensive dinners or jewelry and then run away when the other shoe drops.

Although I am not one to give relationship advice given my track record, (or then again maybe I am one to give relationship given my track record!), I say just ask, always ask, are you okay? Sometimes that is all we, and especially I, need to hear. I now have two family members battling cancer. It is overwhelming and mentally draining. But thankfully I am in a strong mental place now, but it still scares me, what may lie ahead for them. New guy has already reached out a few times to ask if I’m doing okay. Those words have meant the world to me. He’s recently been through it with his Mom and understands. Even my ex in his own way has shown support when I told him. And my friends, well, they are perfect as far as I’m concerned. Their words and actions are everything to me, and more. Maybe they are my mythical creatures of perfection.

You will never hear me say I found my Prince Charming, he doesn’t exist.  You will, however, hear me say “I found the guy who has my back, and who gets me” and that imperfect, real creature is the one who brings a smile to my face and fills my heart, every time. He is the one who makes me laugh, holds my hand, but most of all asks, Are you okay?

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, dailyprompt, dating, goals, life lesson, love, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Perfect Partner? A Mythical Creature

  1. anne leueen says:

    The perfect partner is indeed a myth. You are right that the less than perfect partner may be the right partner because he ( or she) is the one who is there and stays there, ready to support, when life throws us a hardball. Thanks for posting this reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cinn says:

    Absolutely right. Love this ❤️ thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yep, the perfect person doesn’t exist.If he did, he would have to be a basketball, musician, and rich to please my uncle and mother. Plus be interested in everything I like. I have found the perfect guy for me even though he isn’t up to everyone’s standards.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lavender says:

    The perfect guy is the one that cares about your well being, nothing else matters. The one who’s in tune with your emotions and cares what you care about. Now if it was only that easy to fund one…

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Salvation says:

    Excellent advice.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Salvation says:

    Oh, and one more thing. Anyone with a “track record” is more than qualified to give relationship advice. Seems the worst advice comes from those with a shortage of experience but wealth of ideals.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. ladyinthemountains says:

    Once again, I feel like you and I think so much alike. So many times you say what I think or feel but haven’t blogged yet. I look forward to reading your blog every time you post. Thank you.

    Onto this topic, I wish the men I meet would realize that perfect doesn’t exist. I have dated a couple of guys that were wonderful and we could have built something for the future BUT they were looking for perfect. I told them good luck in finding it. I am looking for Mr near perfect. Right in the important ways and with the important things. Someone that I can communicate with about the things that become important. m
    maybe he is out there, maybe not.

    Liked by 1 person

    • geminilvr says:

      I completely agree with everything you said. I want to believe he’s out there and that keeps me from not closing my heart. Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This is is so true! Why do people search for the “perfect man/woman” when the most beautiful things come out of imperfections!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

