By the Seat of My Pants, or Skirt!

writing

First and foremost thank you, on this Veterans Day, to all who served and continue to serve.

I realized over the past few days that it has been some time since I wrote an original post. I have been participating in the daily prompts, which yes are still original, and I enjoy because they keep my writing fresh and still enable me to share my thoughts and feelings and provide an outlet. I wish I could say that lack of posting a non-daily prompt was from having no material, but that is definitely not the case. I am full of material, full of it (among other things I’m sure).

I blame National Novel Writing Month, aka NaNoWriMo, and of course my personality. I decided to go all in for NaNoWriMo 2016. Did I plan? Barely. Is it difficult? Absolutely, more than I ever thought. Will I finish? I’m pretty persistent and have a competitive streak so most likely yes. The writing part comes naturally for me, it is the actual sitting down and making time writing that I am finding difficult. I already do quite a lot of writing, editing and researching for my day job. It is not always exciting writing, okay it is actually never exciting writing, but I do it and enjoy it.

I started my novel, on time, and was going in a completely different direction with my material. It was not going to be about relationships, I was determined to do something different. I was writing about my very, shall we say “interesting” family background. I have a large extended family and some humorous stories growing up that I want to share. My cousins, siblings and I always joked that we can write a book. I guess the joke is on me. My novel was still going to be about relationships but familial. I started it and then hit a wall after a few days. I was having trouble with dialogue. I had to write in the voice of me, as a child and that was something I was struggling with, especially under a timetable to finish by November 30th.

My advice to go in a different direction came from an unexpected source, my ex, the Complicated One. He simply said, write what you know. We were having a discussion about how we have come far, very far, from a fractured, volatile, anger-ridden breakup to a realization that we are connected and do love each other, but as friends. We are soulmates but as we know soulmates can come in different versions, not necessarily romantic.I still shake my head and wonder how we got to this point, and if it is something we can keep going, and our discussion was questioning that as well, but that is a post for another time.

writer-605764_960_720

This time, however, he was right. I write about relationships, pain, moving forward. I still have many humorous stories and they fortunately continue. I still have heartbreaking stories too and they fortunately/unfortunately continue. Starting from April 2014 until now I have had quite the journey, so why not write about that? It was a very atypical time for me, but it is recent and my story is fresh. So I decided to start writing in my voice and I have found the dialogue is coming easy. The chapters are coming easy. Of course I am still using pseudonyms for me and my characters, but it is my voice. Yes, it is difficult to sit down and make time to write and I have quite a lot of catching up to do to make 50,000 words but it doesn’t have to be perfect right now, editing will follow as it always does. I guess kind of like me. When I said to the Complicated One to now guess what I was writing about, he used his favorite response, “Oh boy.”

So how does my personality play into this? Most of my decisions, which are usually by the seat of my pants or skirt depending on the day, are thought about after they happen.I am still in this writing challenge, which I decided to do a few days before it started. I heard people plan for this challenge for months. Nope, not me, as usual, just basically ran with it. Now, if I don’t make the 50,000 words by end of November I won’t consider it a failure, actually I consider it a win. It has pushed me greater than I ever thought. The novel will be written, edited and who knows, maybe even submitted. I’m not so sure I agree with this whole writing challenge thing, but I do agree that it has helped me follow a dream and follow my heart. The family book is on hold for now, but that eventually will be written too. I’ll never stop writing, even if it is just for me.

As for blog material, it’s coming. A friend of mine jokingly commented the other day that she wants my life. We were talking about some relationship stuff that has been going on with me the past few weeks. It’s been quite the whirlwind. That actually made me laugh and tell her oh, no you don’t, trust me. But in all actuality, I do like my life, but most of all I like me. Someone commented on my blog a few weeks ago saying she missed my humorous posts, that I was being too much of my own cheerleader. Funny thing is I never lost my sense of humor it was just pushed aside, temporarily, to let me feel the pain I was feeling, so I could heal, accept and move on. And I am also proud that I can be my own cheerleader, we all should feel that way about ourselves.

I was also speaking with a friend about some very funny by the seat of my pants things I did this summer regarding two of my previous relationships. Although I cried about them at the time, and my behavior still makes me cringe, a bit, I am now looking back and laughing too. Writing and talking heals, but laughter truly is the best medicine. And one thing I can do is laugh at myself and knowing my life and my decisions, there will always be laughter and my blog and material. Now on to write this novel.

#blogging

#blogger

#creativewriting

#NaNoWriMo

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, communication, life lesson, NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo2016, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to By the Seat of My Pants, or Skirt!

  1. kaffe325 says:

    I love this! I just now told my husband that I was finally going to start working on my novel, whch I presume will be a memior. What has always held me back is the certain backlash from my Boston, Irish, Catholic family. While I love them dearly and they would do anything for my son or myself, there would certainly be some “unpleasantries” in my book. Ironically, I decided maybe it best I focus more on myself, my first failed marriage, and moving forward. What a great and inspirational community we have here with such like minded thinkers. I wish you the best with your novel and look forward to reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kaffe325 says:

    Well, you got me motivated. I have an introduction! We’ll see where I go from here! Thank you for your post today. I needed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kavita Chavda says:

    I liked how your relation with your ex turned out to be ❤
    Best of luck for NaNoWriMo challenge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

