Crossing the Bridge

via Daily Prompt: Bridge

27112

My sweet little Larry

 

I still miss one of my biggest comforters in life, more than I miss most of my human relationships, my beagle Larry. He crossed the Rainbow Bridge a little over two years ago. If you are unfamiliar with the term Rainbow Bridge, it refers to a poem which speaks of a bridge that all of our animals cross, where they run free after they pass and wait for us to cross that bridge and eventually join them.

Larry was with me through my divorce and another breakup. No matter what kind of day I was having, or how sad I was, he was there, just loving me, greeting me at the door the same way every single day, always keeping me within focus wherever I was.

It’s amazing how our furry companions leave such a huge hole in our heart when they pass. I’ll never forget the day that I had to say goodbye to him, it was heartbreaking, but I knew it was his time. My vet believed he was about eighteen years old when he passed. No one was sure since he was adopted.

I adopted Larry when he was older, I had no idea his background history except that he came from a high kill shelter. I never changed the name that his rescuers gave him, it just fit. His love never faltered, wavered or stopped, during the ten years I was blessed to spend with him.

So many things we as humans can learn from our pets. They live in the moment, appreciate the small things and love with no conditions. Our pets don’t care how you look, if you’re having a bad hair day or gained an extra couple of pounds. All they want is for you to love and care for them.

Larry was such a special dog, he came into my life for a reason. And looking back, I not only saved him, but he saved me, and for that I am so ever grateful.

#dailyprompt

#postaday

#pets

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, dailyprompt, heartbreak, life lesson, love, pets, postaday, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Crossing the Bridge

  1. Margarita says:

    I’m sorry for the loss of your furry companion. And glad you rescued one another. The love never leaves. xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cinn says:

    I miss my Sandy every day too ❤️🐾
    I think dogs are angels. I’m sorry about your baby. Hugs 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paula Maliandi says:

    Larry was really special. Like Ernie, my beagle, he made the most out of every moment of his life, romping, eating, sleeping, sniffing, loving, playing. Their lives are simple, but they really do simplify and focus our altogether too complicated existences. Please visit Ernie. So you want him to visit you on Thanksgiving? I just can’t figure out the logistics. Hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This makes me tear up. I had one of my fur babies go last year, hardest thing I’ve been through in a long time. They are sweet souls sent to us, and certainly help through seasons of struggle.

    Beautiful memories and post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ladyinthemountains says:

    ITA with this. As I was snuggling with my pup this morning, I was thinking about how happy he makes me. That maybe all I need is my puppy for companionship and my “rabbit” for the other. My heart won’t be broken.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tinahomeblog says:

    This is so sad. I am sorry about your loss.
    Lara

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

