Banned for Life, or Not?

via Daily Prompt: Banned

You would think that once someone has hurt me, they would be banned from my life, relegated to a distant memory. Funny thing is I do the complete  opposite, I allow them to remain a part of my life and sometimes they do. Not everyone stays in my life, some go away for good, either by their choice or mine. Sometimes the hurt is so bad that forgiveness is all you can offer and space is necessary.

Am I a glutton for punishment, naive, or just looking at life through rose-colored glasses? Some may think so. I’m not really sure. Once I get past the point of hurt I am still somehow able to maintain a relationship. It’s not easy and maybe it is a fault of mine. I’m as strong as a bull when I need to be and have a good bullshit radar too, but I also have a side of me that wants to believe there is good within all of us, no matter how much bad I have witnessed or experienced.

I have an Ex who has hurt me in the past pretty bad. We have reached a point where we are very friendly now. Strange how that all worked out. There are still times that he frustrates me but we get past it, I get past it, we move on. It is impossible for me to explain or even comprehend how or why I am able to do this, but I can and I do.It is a choice that I make and I don’t expect anyone to understand my choice, they are not me. I guess that is a part of me that will not change and I’m okay with it. I make no apologies for who I am.

I guess in the end that it is what makes all of us unique. There is no right or wrong how we approach our past and present relationships. What may seem completely absurd to one person, may be completely fine for another. We are all human, we all have faults and we all think and feel differently. Acceptance and love is the tougher road to take, and not always attainable, but it sure does feel good if you can. But don’t judge those who can’t either, I know I won’t.

#dailyprompt

#postaday

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, dailyprompt, forgiveness, hurt, life lesson, postaday, relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Banned for Life, or Not?

  1. Lavender says:

    Sometimes you need to ban these people because you cannot allow yourself to be continously hurt by them. I learned the hard way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. farbehindme says:

    I am so guilty of this. I always try to see the best in people and end up making excuses for their behavior. Forgiveness is a great quality but if someone isn’t guarding your heart or if they aren’t treating you with respect and you allow it, I think that’s when it becomes a problem. (Which I’m guilty of also). It’s tough when you care about someone enough to not want to let them go, it suck more when they keep hurting you..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I ban people for life. I don’t sit around and stew or plot…I just close the door. Once you betray me, we are done. No second chances….no forgiveness….we are just done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ladyinthemountains says:

    I am so like this. Most people are still welcome in my life. There are a few exceptions but few. If I ever care for you, I probably always will just not always in the same way. New people (men) in my life do not always understand that but that is who I am. Now, if they really hurt me, like the ex-husband, that is different. The only reason I have anything to do with him is when I have to. We do have three kids together, though he treats them like shit most of the time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

