Same ole shirt

via Daily Prompt: Ancient

index3

Finding your shirt among my clothes felt like I had uncovered an ancient artifact. I was switching from summer to winter clothes and came across it at the bottom of one of my bins. At first it took me a moment to realize it was yours. I picked it up and held it close to my cheek. It felt soft but no longer smelled like you. I tried to remember what you looked like wearing it, but I couldn’t, or maybe I just don’t care to remember you anymore.

Then the decision – give it away? Or keep it for sentimental purposes?  That decision was easy – I gave it away, same as you did with my heart. It doesn’t deserve space in my closet and you don’t deserve space in my heart.

#dailyprompt

#postaday

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, breakups, dailyprompt, life lesson, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Same ole shirt

  1. Wow, so emotional!! Beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    Great last line.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. justus creek says:

    touching … very nicely written, you put into words so well something that I have experienced and can absolutely relate to

    Liked by 1 person

  4. eddaz says:

    I love the way the story came to an end. Well done💞

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sandy Deprospo says:

    Now you have easy to use car rags!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Ancient – Daily Prompt – ladyleemanila

  7. Freeing, wasn’t it? I got rid of everything that belonged to Loser…as well as everything he ever gave me. There is absolutely nothing around me anymore that can remind me of him. I sometimes think, “I’m not sure I even remember what he looks like”…and it’s only been 16 months since the last time I saw him. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

