Trust, Simple yet Complex

via Daily Prompt: Trust

trust

Trust: a noun and a verb. A simple word to define but so complex to apply.

Verb

  • believe in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of.
    “I should never have trusted her”
Noun
  • firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.
    “good relationships are built on trust”

I found the definition above when I searched the word trust. Good relationships are built on trust? I beg to differ. Lasting relationships are built on trust.

Simple, yet complex.

We trust our mechanic will fix our car when something is broken. We trust the bank will keep our money secure when we make a deposit. Simple processes to trust.

But what about when our hearts are broken? Regaining that trust is when the word becomes so much more complex. Many times when trust is broken, it cannot be brought back. Maybe the person who hurt you is sorry and claims it will never happen again. Maybe that person cries, begs, pleads for you to trust him/her again. You think how can I trust you again? The process of trusting becomes so complex.

Emotions complicate trust. How easy trust can be broken, but how hard it is to win it back when it is. Trust is a personal choice. Think of how easily you will hear, “how can you trust him/her again? They hurt you so bad.” Maybe you eventually do trust the one who hurt you and it eventually works out. Or maybe once again that trust is broken, and so is your heart. Perhaps you don’t trust that person again and there are no more chances given. You walk away. It is still heartbreaking.

It can be a vicious cycle when trust is involved. You hear the word spoken over and over – trust the process, trust your gut, trust yourself, trust your journey. Simple to say, complex to apply.

Trust me, I know.

#dailyprompt

 

 

 

 

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in dailyprompt, life lesson, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Trust, Simple yet Complex

  1. Trust. Easily broken but almost impossible to repair….or in my case, absolutely impossible.
    Loser wanted us to be “friends” after we divorced. My question to him was…..”I couldn’t even trust you to be a faithful husband. How could I possibly trust you to be a faithful friend?” Answer….I can’t. Goodbye.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bklynboy59 says:

    very true post …I have lived it on both sides where I have broken someone’s trust and had others break mine …one thing I was always taught was forgiveness goes a long way toward rebuilding trust on both sides.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

