Me + Online Dating = 1 Clumsy Chick

via Daily Prompt: Clumsy

I am really bad at online dating. Not in the sense that I have a hard time meeting anyone, more so that I just can’t manage multiple sites and how they all work. When I signed up for Bumble I was so clumsy navigating it, I would accidentally swipe left when I meant right and vice versa. I didn’t even realize that there were more pictures and information on potential matches than what just popped up on the screen. Also, when I would get a match I kept forgetting to message the match for days and then Bumble would tell me I had to pay to retrieve my matches. I have since deleted my account.

On another site Plenty of Fish they have the same option. I did the same, swipe the wrong way, many times. I have texted and messaged the wrong person the wrong response as well. Never tried Tinder, don’t plan to either.

So I have put a stop to all dating sites, talking to multiple men, and going on multiple dates. I am concentrating on one guy for now. No more clumsy swiping, messaging, texting. I meet enough people in real life and in real life, I am outgoing, confident and flirty. Of course I’m still clumsy, but in a real sort of way that involves occasionally tripping, spilling or dropping things.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in dailyprompt, dating, online dating, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Me + Online Dating = 1 Clumsy Chick

  1. I’m clumsy too. But many years ago I met my fiance online. This was before many of dating sites were online. I met him on a teen message board.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. exoticnita54 says:

    I know exactly what you are talking about..
    but.. you made a good 😊 choice

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The best site I found was The Mature Free and Single site, the ages are for 40’s upwards, great easy to use site, I met my husband on there. They also do a great diary section too so you can get to know people before you meet them!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Yeah, dating sites bruise my soul (#clumsy). I’m taking a multi-year break from them and trusting karma to spice up my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t meet a lot of people in real life. I mean I do, but almost all through work so they aren’t dateable… I wonder though about focusing on one guy. I think I will multiple guys in the pipeline, to prevent my getting attached too quickly to any one in particular… But that’s me; my heart needs barriers.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. eddaz says:

    I can be so clumsy too. It actually took me sometime to understand the online dating stuff too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cinn says:

    It sucks!! That is all 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I did the same when I first went on POF. I just thought I was going to the next photo and didn’t know about the right/left thing. I have no idea whether I accidentally swiped right on someone I didn’t mean to. Oops.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I think that’s on the app, though! It should be easy to understand. If you are swiping the wrong way it’s because they haven’t made it obvious which way to go. Sure you’ll get the hang of it eventually like you did. But meh, I think people blame themselves for not understanding technology when the technology is just cumbersome or vague. Thanks for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh man, I feel you on the clumsiness of dating; and just being an awkward human being in general. After 5 years of being called Spaz Hands, I’m just trying to embrace it; sounds like you have, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

