Promises, Promises, Promises

via Daily Prompt: Promises

egg-broken_promises_by_herrfous1

I promise to be better to you. I promise that I will do whatever it takes to make us work. I promise to guard your heart and not break it. I promise to choose you and only you.

Promises made. You smile, your heart is full. You believe the words, although you know it is impossible for him to keep these promises.

And he doesn’t. Promises broken. You cry, your heart feels as if it is ripped from your chest. You knew better, but you allowed those promises to be believed. You were hopeful.

Then you promise yourself, I will not let this happen again. I will be more guarded. I will be less open. I will be careful loving anyone again. I will protect my heart. You make these promises to yourself, only to know they will be broken too.

You promise yourself that it’s okay to let love win, no matter how many times it doesn’t. That is who you are and you promise yourself that you will keep doing the best you can and loving with all your heart, no matter what life may throw your way. And that is a promise worth keeping.

#dailyprompt

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in blogging, dailyprompt, life lesson, relationships, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Promises, Promises, Promises

  1. Marvelous l. I am doing my piece right now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

