High School Boys

17-atlg

I am so happy I got to grow up in the 80s. The music, the movies, answering machines, actually calling someone on the phone and talking for hours, oh wait a minute I still do that. But texting did not exist, neither did email, it was all so personal then. No one hid behind a computer or text. You had to actually communicate. You hoped to come home to your answering machine blinking and prayed that you had enough tape in it that a message was recorded from the boy you were hoping would call you. Yes there were lots of crushes – John Cusack, the whole cast of the movie The Outsiders (minus Tom Cruise), Andrew McCarthy, Rob Lowe, the list goes on and on. I was hooked on General Hospital and would rush home with my best friend to watch what would happen. Princess Diana married Prince Charles. MTV began and actually played music. I saw Bruce Springsteen in concert, Elvis Costello, David Bowie, The Who, Van Halen (both versions) and so many more. I snuck into NYC a lot and partied at whatever bars I could.  I had the worst fake ID on the planet but back then the rules were pretty lax. I was fearless and young and my biggest worry was whose party we would be invited to.

cssette

Oh, high school. I attended an all-female Catholic High School. Thank God I lived in a city environment so boys were always around and available and seemed to congregate at my school at 3pm. And at 3pm the knee socks would get pushed down, the plaid skirt rolled up, the white shirt unbuttoned a bit and makeup applied and hair sprayed. I did not have 80s hair, it was and always will be straight, even after my mother tortured me by trying to give me a perm every couple of months. To this day I still don’t understand the reasoning for that torture.

lovedoodle

But back to the boys. I never really had a long-term high school boyfriend. I had a few boyfriends and even more crushes. I was middle of the road, not a geek, not a bombshell, just average. I got along with everyone and when it came to boys, I was the girl guys liked to hang out with and occasionally make out with. I was a virgin all through high school. Now I’m not saying that I didn’t do more than just kiss but never the deed. I would date a guy for a bit, then either he or I would lose interest. I dated a guy who was a drummer in a band, a guy who would pick me up on a moped, three different soccer players, one football player, one baseball player, hmm I think I see a theme here. I had a guy best friend for a very long time but eventually we went out and broke up. They were all fun and cute, but none were boyfriend material. There weren’t any bad breakups to report. I know I definitely cried over a few but it was usually a quick recovery time.

I wish relationships now could be so easy. We have so many expectations and so much baggage. We swear that we won’t let it interfere with our new relationship but somehow it creeps in. I enjoy that as an adult I get to experience a deeper bond with someone but sometimes I wish it could just be carefree, like it was in high school, just for a while.

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. Navigating the dating waters in my forties isn't easy but hey what in life is? My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to High School Boys

  1. bklynboy59 says:

    sounds like you lived a full life 80’s style minus the big hair

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

