And then there was one…

images

I wanted to title my blog And then there was one… but of course it was taken. So although I was forced to change the website handle to And then two became one, it does not refer to two people sailing off into couple hood, skipping along holding hands while cupid shoots arrows into the air and Angels sing. Hell, no! It is about how you start out as a couple, hookup, however you want to define your coupling and after it is over there is only you, left to deal with the breakup and start the process all over again. I use no names in my blog, but the experiences are real, and although heartbreaking at times, I have somehow found the humor in it too and many, many life lessons.

No one said relationships were easy, except those that are in the first, perhaps, second month of bliss. Navigating through this new world of dating brings so many new challenges. Online dating has replaced meeting someone organically. Tinder has replaced even traditional online dating.  Some dating sites require you to answers hundreds of questions (no, thank you) while some creepy old man tells you he bases it on true compatibility. I apologize in advance for anyone who has had luck on that site – you are one of the lucky ones. There are paid sites, free sites, religious sites, over a certain age sites, you name it, there is a dating site for everyone.

The problem is with all these sites and technology being so readily available, we have become daters with unlimited choices. Everyone is led to believe you must have chemistry, you must have a connection, if not, move on to the next. Now don’t get me wrong there has to be a level of attraction but everyone views chemistry different. It is a personal feeling. There are compatibility tests, chemistry tests on some of these sites, you can swipe left, swipe right, whatever your libido desires at the moment or your heart tells you to do. Unfortunately the brain is rarely involved but should more of an influence. But how sexy is it to say you were my brain’s choice – yeah not very.

I have experienced heartbreak yet again and the purpose of my blog will be to document all my past relationships, starting with the gloriously wonderful and yet so awkward first kiss, the advice from friends, things that make you go hmm, and of course a little guy advice too. Until next time, happy fishing, tindering, harmonizing, matching, j-dating or whatever you may use.

About geminilvr

I have been through many relationships in my life, most long term, and they have all shaped who I am in some way. I try to find humor through the pain and heartbreak and find the strength to do it all over again. My blog is sprinkled with past relationships, current status and thoughts on it all! I hope my experiences make you smile, laugh or cry along with me and relate to the complexity that is life, my life, perfectly imperfect.
This entry was posted in breakups, relationships, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And then there was one…

  1. This is truthful and witty as hell! Even though I’m personally not dating (which I’m sure my husband is happy about 😉 , everyone remembers their dating days and stories vividly! I think you’ve touched on something helpful. How dating has changed for 40 & 50 somethings while still being relevant to every decade above and below that. Keep writing! I’ll spread the word of this awesome new blog. Writing is healing. And it also keeps the hands busy. You know the old saying about the idle hands? Idle hands drink too much and eat whole bags of Pepperidge Farms cookies…

    Like

  2. Awesome blog…look forward to reading more.

    You should also follow us…we have similar subject matters

    http://Www.rinsebeforeuse.WordPress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

